skip navigation

CWT Traveler

January 2019

EU air safety list updated

The European Union places great importance on air safety, which is why European air traffic is subject to strict safety regulations. Airlines that do not meet these requirements are banned from flying to or from airports in the EU and Switzerland. The so-called black list of airlines that are not considered safe enough is regularly updated.

The latest version of this list was published in November 2018. It currently includes 115 airline companies in total, including 109 from the following countries: Equatorial Guinea, Afghanistan, Angola, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Gabon, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libya, Nepal, Congo, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone and Sudan.

Moreover, six individual airlines are on the list whose safety standards do not meet EU requirements: Avior Airlines (Venezuela), Blue Wing Airlines (Surinam), Iran Aseman Airlines (Iran), Iraqi Airways (Iraq), Med-View Airlines (Nigeria) und Air Zimbabwe (Zimbabwe). Another six airlines are subject to restrictions and are only allowed to fly to the EU with specific aircraft: Afrijet and Nouvelle Air Affaires SN2AG (Gabon), Air Koryo (North Korea), Air Service Comores (Comoros), Iran Air (Iran) and TAAG Angola Airlines (Angola).

The complete, updated list can be found here:

Photo by Andrey Larin on Unsplash


CWT Traveler

Our monthly online newsletter CWT Traveler delivers the latest information and offers from the business travel industry.