Back to news home Back arrow

Business Travel Journalism Awards 2023: Winners revealed

November 30, 2023

CWT, the global business travel and meetings solutions provider, has announced the winners of the 2023 Business Travel Journalism Awards (BTJAs), which marked its 20th edition this year, honoring exceptional journalists and editors from national, consumer, broadcast, and trade media worldwide. Out of hundreds of entries submitted globally, an independent judging panel selected 12 winners for their exemplary and innovative business travel and events journalism over the past year. 

The awards were presented at an exclusive ceremony at The Tower of London attended by journalists and industry professionals.

The Business Travel Magazine scooped this year’s Editorial Team of the Year award, with judges praising its unique features, excellent design and superbly written copy; editor Bev Fearis picked up Features Journalist of the Year Technology for her article exploring whether online booking tools will ever match consumer expectations.

BTN Europe took home two awards with editor Andy Hoskins winning Editor of the Year and Amon Cohen winning Features Journalist of the Year Sustainability for his piece exploring how existing and impending EU regulations will shape the future of travel. Business Traveller was also a double award winner with editor Tamsin Cocks scooping Features Journalist of the Year Air for her article on next-gen developments in airline cabin climates and the impact on health and wellbeing and Hannah Brandler winning Meetings and Events Journalist of the Year for her first-hand adventure piece on the growth of sustainable MICE in Iceland.

Francesca Street from CNN Travel was the winner of News Journalist of the Year category with judges praising her ‘informative and insightful’ stories including ‘flight attendants’ secrets for surviving summer travel. The Times Travel journalist Mike MacEacheran won Features Journalist of the Year Ground Transportation for his piece on luxury rail travel in Switzerland. Cheryl Teo, M&C Asia, scooped Features Journalist of the Year Destination for her in-depth spotlight on Seoul’s MICE offering.

Digital Journalist of the Year went to Juan Daniel Núñez Sánchez from Smart Travel News; and M&IT editor Paul Harvey took home Blogger/Columnist of the Year for his blog on going vegan at a trade show. There was also an award for Point Hacks editor Chris Chamberlin who won Features Journalist of the Year Accommodation for his article about Accor’s global hotel loyalty program. 

“The 2023 Business Travel Journalism Awards shine a light on the exemplary standards of journalism upheld within the travel and meetings sphere,” says Victoria Berwick, VP Global Marketing, CWT. “The entrants, short-listers and ultimate category winners this year have again proven the importance of the questions they ask our industry, to ensure it continues to progress and strive for excellence.”

Curated and administered by CWT, the BTJAs recognize distinguished business travel and meetings and events journalism. Open to journalists worldwide, the BTJAs saw a significant influx of entries this year, submitted from across four continents, with the winners selected by an expert judging panel of business travel and meetings managers, industry experts, and respected editors.

This year’s BTJA winners:

  • Features Journalist of the Year Air: Tamsin Cocks, Business Traveller

  • Features Journalist of the Year Accommodation: Chris Chamberlin, Point Hacks

  • Features Journalist of the Year Destination: Cheryl Teo, M&C Asia 

  • Features Journalist of the Year Ground Transportation: Mike MacEacheran, Times Travel

  • Features Journalist of the Year Sustainability: Amon Cohen, BTN Europe

  • Features Journalist of the Year Technology: Bev Fearis, The Business Travel Magazine

  • Meetings & Events Journalist of the Year: Hannah Brandler, Business Traveller

  • Digital Journalist of the Year: Juan Daniel Núñez Sánchez, Smart Travel News

  • Blogger/Columnist of the Year: Paul Harvey, M&IT

  • News Journalist of the Year: Francesca Street, CNN Travel

  • Editorial team of the Year: The Business Travel Magazine

  • Editor of the Year: Andy Hoskins, BTN Europe

This year’s BTJA judging panel: 

  • Kate Aldridge, SVP Corporate Comms and Content, Paysafe

  • Chris Atkinson, Head of Corporate Communications, Trainline

  • Sally Brown, Freelance Corporate Communications Director and Consultant, Sally Brown PR

  • Cristina Chimenti, Head of Travel, Sky

  • Gehan Colliander, Global Head of Travel, BCG

  • Mark Corbett, Founder, Thrust Carbon

  • Jim Donaldson, FleishmanHillard, CEO, UK and Middle East

  • Nick Easen, Freelance Journalist and Broadcaster

  • Chris Ely, Research Director, GBTA

  • Inge Huijbrechts, Global Senior VO Sustainability, Security and Corporate Communications, Radisson Hotel Group

  • Kevin Johnston, Head of Press EMEA, United Airlines

  • Charlotte Lamp Davies, Founder & CEO, A Bright Approach

  • Nicola Lomas, Consultant, Nicola Lomas Consulting

  • Neil Rogan, Global Director Corporate External Communications and Digital Marketing, Amadeus

  • James Tomlinson, Senior Director, Corporate Communications, Avis Budget Group

Head to the BTJAs website to see the list of winners and pictures from the event.

Images from the event are available on request. Please message

CWT is a global business travel and meetings solutions provider, with whom companies and governments partner to keep their people connected, in traditional business locations and some of the most remote and inaccessible parts of the globe. A private company, CWT provides its customers’ employees with innovative technology and an efficient, safe, and sustainable travel experience.